LET’S PRETEND IT NEVER HAPPENED, IF ONLY FOR THE NIGHT by Connor Thomas Cleary

October 11, 2012 at 7:30 am | Posted in Kindle, Romance, Short Stories, Teen, Writing, Reading, YA, Young Adult | Leave a comment

An excerpt from “LET’S PRETEND IT NEVER HAPPENED, IF ONLY FOR THE NIGHT” by Connor Thomas Cleary. A story from the United States.

I packed a toothbrush and a change of underclothes. Not sure I’ll need them, hope I will. New Jersey Transit hauls me toward the city, toward that big, loud, riot of a city. She’s the only reason I ever go there. The conductor hands me a yellow paper roundtrip with a few hanging chads. I stash it in my wallet behind a Metro Card with a logo worn away by the credit card sheath. Even though she broke up with me months ago, that face keeps fading.

The view from my window is beautiful in spite of the iron sky. Autumn blooms between the stations, surprisingly radiant in the muted light. Soon, I know, these washes of warm color will give way to the cold palette of a city pressing ever outward like greedy fog. I try to hold on to this warmth, to bring these colors with me. I shove a handful of Sugar Maple Red in my pocket, hide some Birch Yellow under my hat, and poke some Oak Orange into my sock.

Mid-town bound, I’m going to see a show. She’s going to be great.

I told her to break a leg—how strange.

The Big Apple. Teeming, wormed with subways …

Read the rest of Connor Thomas Cleary’s short story in SUDDENLY LOST IN WORDS Volume 1

Available now on Amazon.com http://tinyurl.com/8at3y8u (USA) and Amazon.co.uk http://tinyurl.com/c4rgbla (UK) for 99c or 77p.

http://www.suddenlylostinwords.com/

Connor Thomas Cleary wrote a story about a town terrorized by dragons when he was nine. His writing has matured a bit since then, and he now works as a professional writer, designer, and nerd journalist. He runs his own blog, The Blue Key, and his own business, Four Stair Multimedia and Design. His work has appeared in the Boxfire Press Heroics Anthology, on Feathertale.com, and Nerve.com.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

